MINUTES

The regular meeting of the Board of Education, Miller School District #29-4 was held on Monday, June 12, 2017, in the Elementary School Library. The meeting was called to order at 6:30 p.m. by Tim Zacher, President of the Board. Other members in attendance were Natalie Bertsch, Bryan Breitling, Jonathan Hurd, Rob Mullaney, Cynthia Rombough, and Connie Schroeder. Also in attendance were Dan Trefz, Superintendent and Sara Gates, Business Manager.

Motion by Bertsch, second by Hurd to approve the board agenda. All voting aye.

Motion by Schroeder, second by Rombough to approve the consent agenda items.

- 1. Minutes of the May 8, 2017 regular meeting
- 2. Financial Report
- 3. Payment of presented bills

All voting aye.

Tara Yost was recognized.

Dan Trefz, Superintendent, reported on the Emergency Management Drill and the staff survey results and response.

Motion by Rombough, second by Mullaney to approve the Miller Power Program as an activity with an account within the trust and agency fund. All voting aye.

Motion by Rombough, second by Hurd to approve the use of the armory, the elementary gym, and the elementary commons for Miller Swim Club workouts on May 30th –June 9th, 2017 and waive the fees for this use. All voting aye.

Food Service management contract discussion.

Motion by Rombough, second by Hurd to accept CBM's proposal and enter into a contract with CBM as food service contractor for the 2017-2018 school year with lunch prices and offerings to be set by mutual agreement. All voting aye.

Second reading of the amended student cell phone policy.

Motion by Schroeder, second by Breitling to table the student cell phone policy for the 2017-2018 school year with proposed changes till the July board meeting. All voting aye.

Discussion on the Miller School District wellness policy.

Motion by Rombough, second by Mullaney to approve the 2017-2018 Miller School District Wellness Policy. All voting aye.

Motion by Breitling, second by Bertsch to approve the amendment to the Miller School Policy JNB: Delinquent Bill Policy. All voting aye.

Regular Meeting June 12, 2017 Page 2

Motion by Rombough, second by Mullaney to enter into Executive Session for the express purpose of personnel issues and negotiations SDCL 1-25-2 (1) (4) at 7:58 p.m. All voting aye.

President Zacher declared return to regular session 8:48 p.m.

Minutes recorded by the Superintendent.

Motion by Rombough, second by Mullaney to approve the 2017-2018 Negotiated Agreement and negotiated package as presented. Voting aye: Bertsch, Hurd, Mullaney, Rombough, Schroeder, and Zacher. Breitling abstained.

Motion by Rombough, second by Hurd to approve the certified contract for Deborah Pazour as SPED Teacher in the amount of \$39,900 for the 2017-2018 school year. All voting aye.

Motion by Bertsch, second by Rombough to approve the administrative contract for Deborah Pazour as assistant to the SPED Director in the amount of \$12,100 for the 2017-2018 school year. All voting aye.

Motion by Schroeder, second by Rombough to approve the resignation of Matthew VanZee as Elementary Counselor effective on 6-12-17. All voting aye.

Motion by Breitling, second by Bertsch to accept the resignation of Amy Johnson as Elementary Principal effective 6-12-17 with liquidated damages of \$2,500. All voting aye.

The next regular school board meeting is scheduled for July 10th, 2017 at 6:30 p.m. in the elementary school library.

Motion by Rombough, second by Mullaney to adjourn at 8:54 p.m. All voting aye.

Tim Zacher, President Board of Education

Sara Gates Business Manager